Apportionment Commission

Muskegon County Apportionment Commission

According to State Law, the Muskegon County Apportionment Commission is responsible for establishing County Commission districts within the County every 10 years after the census has been completed. The County Apportionment Commission consists of the County Clerk, the County Treasurer, the Prosecuting Attorney, and the statutory County chairperson of each of the two political parties whose candidates for Secretary of State received the most votes in the last election for that office. In Muskegon County it is the Democratic Party and Republican Party.
For a listing of the 2021 Apportionment Commission Members contact information, CLICK HERE.

2021 Apportionment Commission Plan Selection & Reports

Following final selection of the Plan 2021-7-4-1 on Monday, November 8, 2021 and two revisions of the plan on Wednesday, November 10, 2021, the following documents and maps were submitted to the State of Michigan Bureau of Elections on Friday, November 12, 2021.  Click each item in the list to view the submitted section.

  1. Resolution approving the new county commissioner district boundaries
  2. Maps in PDF format of the new County Commissioner districts
    1. Map 1: Complete Muskegon County Plan 2021-7-4-1 County Commissioner Districts Map
    2. Map 2: District 1 Detail Map
    3. Map 3: District 2 Detail Map
    4. Map 4: District 3 Detail Map
    5. Map 5: District 4 Detail Map
    6. Map 6: District 5 Detail Map
    7. Map 7: District 6 Detail Map
    8. Map 8: District 7 Detail Map
  3. Population Tabulations for Muskegon County Plan 2021-7-4-1
    1. Notation of Census Data population adjustments for the process of Muskegon County Apportionment
    2. Table 1: Overall District Populations with Deviations
    3. Table 2: Detailed District Populations with Race
    4. Table 3: Detailed District Populations with Housing Statistics
  4. Descriptions of Muskegon County Plan 2021-7-4-1 County Commissioner Districts
  5. Detail Census Blocks Report of District Assignments

Muskegon County Apportionment Plan Review Dashboard

Apportionment_Plan_Viewer Opens in new window

The Muskegon County Apportionment Commission, with assistance from Muskegon County GIS has released an interactive online application for reviewing the apportionment plans being considered.   This viewer allows users to view plans, received details about proposed commissioner district populations and submit comments about various plans.  To view the application, CLICK HERE or the image of the dashboard to the left.  

American disability act policy for access to open meetings of the Muskegon County Apportionment Commission:

The County of Muskegon will provide necessary reasonable auxiliary aids and services to individuals with disabilities who want to attend the meeting upon 24-hours notice to the Muskegon County Clerk. Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the Muskegon County Clerk by writing or calling: Michael E. Kobza Hall of Justice, 990 Terrace Street, 1st Floor, Muskegon, MI  49442 - (231)724-6316.